Wells Fargo asks for two original IDs, your SSN or ITIN, a physical U.S. address and $25, and it's stricter than most about which IDs count.
- Photo ID: a primary and a secondary ID, original and unexpired, at least one with your photo or signature, and the primary printed in English.
- SSN or ITIN: online needs an SSN or ITIN; non-citizens without a U.S. taxpayer ID bring a government ID showing nationality or residence.
- Proof of address: only if neither ID shows your current physical U.S. address; no P.O. Box or private mailbox.
- Opening deposit: "$25" for checking or savings.
- Age: Everyday Checking 17 and older, Clear Access Banking 13 and older (13 to 16 with an adult co-owner); 18 to apply online.
- Online or branch: online at 18 or older; under 18 or a non-permanent U.S. resident, a branch appointment.
- Non-citizens and non-residents: passport, permanent resident card, employment authorization card or a consular card from Colombia, Guatemala or Mexico work as primary ID.
As read on Wells Fargo's own pages on October 29, 2026; the bank can change these, so its linked pages are the final word.
What to bring to Wells Fargo
| What to bring | What Wells Fargo says | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Primary ID | State or territory driver's license or ID, tribal ID, passport, U.S. Armed Forces ID, permanent resident card, and more | "Your primary ID is printed in English"; "we cannot accept digital or photocopied versions" |
| Second ID | Any primary ID, employee ID, signed Social Security card, student ID, or an ATM, credit or debit card | "At least one ID contains your photograph or signature" |
| SSN or ITIN | Online: "Have a Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)" | At a branch you need to know your SSN; the "physical card is not required unless used as a secondary ID" |
| Proof of address | "Proof of address, if your current physical address is not listed on one of your IDs" | Utility bill, paystub, or bank, credit card or mortgage statement within 60 days; prior-year tax return; current lease; current vehicle registration |
| Opening deposit | "The minimum deposit to open a checking or savings account is $25." | Way2Save and Clear Access Banking also say "$25 minimum opening deposit" |
| Phone number | Online: "Provide your mobile phone number" | The Everyday Checking page says "your own" mobile number |
| For teens | Clear Access Banking 13 or older; Everyday Checking 17 or older | "Teens 17 years old and under must open at a branch" |
| For non-citizens | Non-permanent residents apply at a branch | Without a U.S. taxpayer ID: "a government issued ID that provides evidence of nationality or residence" |
The two-ID rule, and which IDs count
Wells Fargo's help page is specific. Both IDs must be originals and unexpired, at least one needs your photo or signature, and the primary must be printed in English. Its primary list includes several IDs other banks don't name: a consular card issued by Colombia, Guatemala or Mexico, a Canadian driver's license or ID card issued in English ("Quebec-issued IDs are not accepted"), an El Salvador DUI card, a Border Crossing Card and an employment authorization card.
One page disagrees with the rest. The checking hub says "No matter how you apply, you'll need: Your Social Security number." The help page and the Everyday Checking ID page say SSN or ITIN, and give non-citizens without either a route through a foreign government ID. The safe reading: bring your SSN if you have one; if you have only an ITIN or a foreign ID, book a branch appointment and bring both IDs.
The federal minimum behind every bank's list
Under 31 CFR 1020.220, a bank must collect at least your name, date of birth, address and an identification number before it opens an account. For U.S. persons that number is a taxpayer ID such as an SSN or ITIN; for others it can be a passport number and issuing country, or a similar government ID number. The bank then verifies who you are, and each bank adds its own rules on top, like Wells Fargo's English-language primary ID. The basics every bank shares are in what every US bank asks for.
How Wells Fargo compares
Same date, each bank's own pages; the other nine have their own checklists.
| Bank | Checking: minimum to open | SSN or ITIN | Where you can open | Without SSN or green card |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chase | Total Checking: not stated; Secure Banking: no minimum | Not stated as a Chase rule | Online or branch (teens: branch) | Matrícula consular, passport or work permit as primary ID; one ID must show a U.S. address |
| Bank of America | SafeBalance $25; Advantage Plus $100 | Online asks for an SSN; visa holders open in person | Online or financial center | Visa holders: in person, two IDs incl. foreign passport or consular ID |
| Wells Fargo | $25 | SSN or ITIN | Online at 18+; branch under 18 | Branch appointment; foreign government ID showing nationality or residence |
| Citi | No minimum | SSN or ITIN | Online (savings also branch or phone); new customers may be asked to visit a branch | Online only for U.S. citizens and resident aliens; foreign individuals give a W-8BEN |
| U.S. Bank | Smartly Checking $25 | SSN or ITIN (online: SSN) | Online or branch | Branch: passport plus I-20 or I-94; Matrícula Consular Mexicana as primary ID |
| PNC | $25, or $0 online | SSN or ITIN | Online or branch | Branch only: passport, a second ID and Form W-8BEN |
| Truist | Truist One Checking $50 | SSN or taxpayer ID number | Online, branch or phone | Nonresident aliens: passport number, issuing country and foreign address |
| Capital One | 360 Checking: no minimum | SSN or ITIN | Online, branch or Café | 360 accounts: U.S. citizens and permanent residents only |
| TD Bank | $0 (fund within 45 days) | SSN; ITIN for TD Essential Banking | Online, store or phone | Not stated |
| Ally | $0 | SSN or taxpayer ID number | Online or phone only, no branches | U.S. residents with a U.S. street address only |
Have it ready before you apply
Wells Fargo won't take digital or photocopied IDs at the branch, so your phone copies are for filling in forms, not for showing. If your license still has an old address, find a proof of address document from the last 60 days before you go; a recent utility bill or paystub as a PDF is easy to check against the date rule. Know your SSN or ITIN, and if you aren't sure which one you have, ITIN vs SSN explains. Paperlock keeps that set in one place on your iPhone: it reads each document you scan, locks behind Face ID, and blurs ID thumbnails until you confirm it's you. It's on the App Store.