To open a Truist checking or savings account you give your full legal name, street address, SSN or taxpayer ID number and date of birth, Truist may ask to see a driver's license, state ID or passport, and Truist One Checking takes $50 to open.
- Photo ID: Truist "may also ask to see your driver's license, state ID, passport, or other primary identification documents"; it publishes no ID list for deposit accounts.
- SSN or ITIN: "social security number or taxpayer identification number"; the ITIN by name: not stated.
- Proof of address: a "permanent physical street address" is required; a PO box counts only as a mailing address; no proof document is named.
- Opening deposit: Truist One Checking $50, Marquee Checking $100, Confidence Account $25; Truist One Savings $50, Confidence Savings $25.
- Age: a minimum age is not stated; minors can be account owners, jointly or through a custodial account.
- Online or branch: online, at a branch or by phone; CDs are branch only.
- Non-citizens and non-residents: for nonresident aliens Truist records passport number, issuing country and foreign address; international students open at a branch.
As read on Truist's own pages on October 29, 2026; the bank can change these, so its linked pages are the final word.
What to bring to Truist
| What to bring | What Truist says | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Photo ID | "We may also ask to see your driver's license, state ID, passport, or other primary identification documents" | From the Bank Services Agreement; no separate checklist |
| Second ID | Not stated | Bring one if you have it, in case the branch asks |
| SSN or taxpayer ID | "social security number or taxpayer identification number" | ITIN not named |
| Address | "permanent physical street address" | "We will accept a post office box only as a mailing address" |
| Opening deposit | Truist One Checking: "Minimum opening deposit $50" | Marquee $100; Confidence Account $25 |
| For minors | The agreement covers "a joint account where one account owner is a minor" and custodial accounts | No minimum age stated |
| For non-citizens | "If you are a nonresident alien, we will record your passport number, the name of the country that issued the passport and your foreign address" | International students: branch only |
What Truist doesn't publish
Truist has no "here's what to bring" list for checking or savings. Its checking page only says that "to open an account online, you'll need to share some personal information, and then we'll help you make your first deposit." The most specific rules sit in the Bank Services Agreement, section E, "Account Opening," quoted in the table above.
Age is the other gap. The only "18 or older" on Truist's site is in the terms of its checking bonus offer, which applies to the promotion, not to opening an account. The agreement covers joint accounts with a minor and accounts opened for a minor by a custodian, and the Truist One Savings disclosure mentions a "Minor ... listed as the primary account owner." If you're opening for a teen, call or visit first and ask what the adult needs to bring.
The safe reading for everyone: bring a driver's license or passport, know your SSN or taxpayer ID, and have something that shows your current street address if your ID doesn't.
International students and nonresident aliens
Truist's student checking page says: "With proper documentation, international students do not need a U.S. Social Security Number to open an account. However, international students studying abroad in the U.S. can only open new accounts at a Truist branch." Truist doesn't spell out what "proper documentation" means, so ask the branch before you go. If you aren't sure which number you have, ITIN vs SSN has the difference.
The federal minimum behind every bank's list
Federal rules for banks (31 CFR 1020.220) require a bank to collect your name, date of birth, address and an identification number before opening an account: a taxpayer ID for U.S. persons, and for non-U.S. persons something like a passport number and the country that issued it. The bank then has to verify who you are. Every bank adds its own rules on top, and Truist's agreement reads close to that federal list. For the general picture, see what every US bank asks for.
How Truist compares
Same date, each bank's own pages; the other nine have their own checklists.
| Bank | Checking: minimum to open | SSN or ITIN | Where you can open | Without SSN or green card |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chase | Total Checking: not stated; Secure Banking: no minimum | Not stated as a Chase rule | Online or branch (teens: branch) | Matrícula consular, passport or work permit as primary ID; one ID must show a U.S. address |
| Bank of America | SafeBalance $25; Advantage Plus $100 | Online asks for an SSN; visa holders open in person | Online or financial center | Visa holders: in person, two IDs incl. foreign passport or consular ID |
| Wells Fargo | $25 | SSN or ITIN | Online at 18+; branch under 18 | Branch appointment; foreign government ID showing nationality or residence |
| Citi | No minimum | SSN or ITIN | Online (savings also branch or phone); new customers may be asked to visit a branch | Online only for U.S. citizens and resident aliens; foreign individuals give a W-8BEN |
| U.S. Bank | Smartly Checking $25 | SSN or ITIN (online: SSN) | Online or branch | Branch: passport plus I-20 or I-94; Matrícula Consular Mexicana as primary ID |
| PNC | $25, or $0 online | SSN or ITIN | Online or branch | Branch only: passport, a second ID and Form W-8BEN |
| Truist | Truist One Checking $50 | SSN or taxpayer ID number | Online, branch or phone | Nonresident aliens: passport number, issuing country and foreign address |
| Capital One | 360 Checking: no minimum | SSN or ITIN | Online, branch or Café | 360 accounts: U.S. citizens and permanent residents only |
| TD Bank | $0 (fund within 45 days) | SSN; ITIN for TD Essential Banking | Online, store or phone | Not stated |
| Ally | $0 | SSN or taxpayer ID number | Online or phone only, no branches | U.S. residents with a U.S. street address only |
Have it ready before you apply
Because Truist leaves the ID list open, have more than the minimum within reach: your driver's license or passport, unexpired, and your SSN or taxpayer ID number memorized or written down. If your ID shows an old address, bring a recent utility bill or lease as proof of address in case the branch asks. Have the $50 (or the amount for your account) ready to move from another account or bring to the branch.
If those papers live in a drawer, Paperlock can hold them on your iPhone. It reads each document you save, keeps it behind Face ID, and shows ID thumbnails blurred until you confirm it's you. It's on the App Store.