To open a TD Bank checking or savings account you need your Social Security number (or ITIN for TD Essential Banking), a government-issued ID, your home address and phone number, and a way to fund the account, with $0 required at opening.

  • Photo ID: "at least one form of ID"; TD's application video names a driver's license, state ID or passport number.
  • SSN or ITIN: an SSN for most accounts; TD Essential Banking also accepts an ITIN.
  • Proof of address: TD asks for your home address, and your previous one if you've been there under two years; no proof document is named.
  • Opening deposit: $0 for TD Beyond, TD Complete, TD Essential, TD Simple Savings and TD Signature Savings; the account closes if unfunded after 45 days.
  • Age: 18+ in most states; under 18, a joint account with a parent or legal guardian as secondary owner.
  • Online or branch: online, in person at a TD Bank store, or by phone with a Banking Specialist.
  • Non-citizens and non-residents: not stated on TD's U.S. pages.

As read on TD Bank's own pages on October 29, 2026; the bank can change these, so its linked pages are the final word.

What to bring to TD Bank

What to bring What TD Bank says Notes
Photo ID "Your Social Security number And at least one form of ID" Video: "This can be your Driver's License, State ID or Passport number."
Second ID Not stated The agreement says TD "may also ask to see your driver's license or any other identifying documents"
SSN or ITIN Checking FAQ: "Social Security number"; TD Essential: "Social Security Number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)" The agreement says "Social Security or Tax Identification Number"
Address "Your home address" Previous address too if you've lived there "less than two years"
Opening deposit "There is no minimum opening deposit required at the time of account opening" "If you do not make a deposit within 45 days, your account will automatically close."
Phone "Your phone for quick identity verification" Also a debit card or bank account and routing number to fund it
For teens "You must open a joint account with a parent or legal guardian as the secondary owner" TD Essential under 18: visit a store with the parent or guardian
For non-citizens Not stated on td.com/us Canadians: TD Canada Trust says these accounts open only in a TD Bank location

SSN or ITIN: it depends on the account

TD's pages disagree here. The checking hub, the savings hub and the TD Complete page all ask for a "Social Security number." The TD Essential Banking page asks for "Social Security Number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)." The deposit agreement says "Social Security or Tax Identification Number." The safe reading: with an ITIN and no SSN, TD Essential Banking is the account TD's pages say you can open; for others, ask TD first. ITIN vs SSN explains the difference if you're unsure which you have.

TD doesn't publish a general rule for non-U.S. residents on its U.S. site. The one cross-border page, from TD Canada Trust for Canadians, says TD Bank checking accounts "can only be opened in a TD Bank, America's Most Convenient Bank® location."

Under 18 at TD Bank

TD's checking hub says "18+ In most states." Below that, "you must open a joint account with a parent or legal guardian as the secondary owner," and the deposit agreement agrees. TD Essential Banking adds a step: "If you're under 18, visit a TD Bank store near you with a parent or legal guardian." TD doesn't state a minimum age. Opening for a teen? Plan on a store visit together.

The federal minimum behind every bank's list

Federal rules for banks (31 CFR 1020.220) require a bank to collect your name, date of birth, address and an identification number before opening an account: a taxpayer ID for U.S. persons, and for non-U.S. persons something like a passport number and the country that issued it. The bank then has to verify who you are. Banks add their own rules on top; for the general picture, see what every US bank asks for.

How TD Bank compares

Same date, each bank's own pages; the other nine have their own checklists.

Bank Checking: minimum to open SSN or ITIN Where you can open Without SSN or green card
Chase Total Checking: not stated; Secure Banking: no minimum Not stated as a Chase rule Online or branch (teens: branch) Matrícula consular, passport or work permit as primary ID; one ID must show a U.S. address
Bank of America SafeBalance $25; Advantage Plus $100 Online asks for an SSN; visa holders open in person Online or financial center Visa holders: in person, two IDs incl. foreign passport or consular ID
Wells Fargo $25 SSN or ITIN Online at 18+; branch under 18 Branch appointment; foreign government ID showing nationality or residence
Citi No minimum SSN or ITIN Online (savings also branch or phone); new customers may be asked to visit a branch Online only for U.S. citizens and resident aliens; foreign individuals give a W-8BEN
U.S. Bank Smartly Checking $25 SSN or ITIN (online: SSN) Online or branch Branch: passport plus I-20 or I-94; Matrícula Consular Mexicana as primary ID
PNC $25, or $0 online SSN or ITIN Online or branch Branch only: passport, a second ID and Form W-8BEN
Truist Truist One Checking $50 SSN or taxpayer ID number Online, branch or phone Nonresident aliens: passport number, issuing country and foreign address
Capital One 360 Checking: no minimum SSN or ITIN Online, branch or Café 360 accounts: U.S. citizens and permanent residents only
TD Bank $0 (fund within 45 days) SSN; ITIN for TD Essential Banking Online, store or phone Not stated
Ally $0 SSN or taxpayer ID number Online or phone only, no branches U.S. residents with a U.S. street address only

Have it ready before you apply

Online, keep your driver's license, state ID or passport next to you for the ID number, and your phone for the identity check. Moved in the last two years? Look up your previous address before you start. TD doesn't name a proof of address document, but a recent bill with your current address is worth bringing to a store visit. And have a debit card or another bank's account and routing number ready, so the account doesn't close unfunded after 45 days.

If those papers live in a drawer, Paperlock can hold them on your iPhone. It reads each document you save, keeps it behind Face ID, and shows ID thumbnails blurred until you confirm it's you. It's on the App Store.