Citi asks for your U.S. address, date of birth and an SSN or ITIN, with no deposit needed to open checking; it publishes no in-branch ID list.
- Photo ID: no Citi ID list found; its account agreement says "We may also ask for your driver's license or other identifying documents."
- SSN or ITIN: online, the documentation "may include a Social Security Number or Individual Taxpayer Identification number".
- Proof of address: a physical U.S. address online; if Citi asks you to verify it, one document from its list.
- Opening deposit: "no minimum deposit" for checking or savings.
- Age: 18 to apply online; minors 13 to 17 may qualify for a joint account with an adult owner.
- Online or branch: online for checking and savings; savings can also be opened at a branch or by phone.
- Non-citizens and non-residents: online is for U.S. citizens and U.S. resident aliens; foreign individuals need a Form W-8BEN on file.
As read on Citi's own pages on October 29, 2026; the bank can change these, so its linked pages are the final word.
What to bring to Citi
| What to bring | What Citi says | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Photo ID | "We may also ask for your driver's license or other identifying documents." | No Citi ID list found; Citi's general advice article names a driver's license, state ID or passport |
| SSN or ITIN | "applicable identification documentation which may include a Social Security Number or Individual Taxpayer Identification number" | Online applicants also give a date of birth |
| Proof of address | Online: "a physical address in the U.S." | If asked to verify: a utility bill under 60 days old (not a mobile phone bill), pay stub, mortgage statement, U.S. government mail, or a current lease, rental or university housing agreement |
| Opening deposit | "There is no minimum deposit to open a new checking account with Citi." | Same for savings; "accounts with a zero balance for 90 calendar days are subject to closure" |
| For teens | "Minors ages 13 to 17 may qualify to open a Joint Account." | "Each Joint Account must have at least one adult owner" |
| For non-citizens | Online: "you must be a U.S. citizen or a U.S. resident alien" | "Foreign individuals must furnish or have a valid Form W-8BEN … on file with Citibank" |
Citi's rules for non-U.S. persons live in its account agreement
Citi's product pages cover online applicants only. The rest is in the Consumer Deposit Account Agreement linked from the checking page. It says foreign individuals must furnish or have a valid Form W-8BEN on file, the IRS form that certifies you're not a U.S. person for tax purposes. It also says customers with an address in certain countries "may be ineligible" to open accounts, that new customers "may be required to visit a branch in the U.S.," and that Citi "may be unable to accept documentation executed outside of the United States."
Because Citi doesn't publish an in-branch ID list, the safe reading is to bring a government photo ID, a second ID if you have one, a document from its address list, and your SSN or ITIN, or a completed W-8BEN if you're a foreign individual.
The federal minimum behind every bank's list
Under 31 CFR 1020.220, a bank must collect at least your name, date of birth, address and an identification number before it opens an account. For U.S. persons that number is a taxpayer ID such as an SSN or ITIN; for others it can be a passport number and issuing country, or a similar government ID number. The bank then verifies who you are, and each bank adds its own rules on top, like Citi's W-8BEN. The basics every bank shares are in what every US bank asks for.
How Citi compares
Same date, each bank's own pages; the other nine have their own checklists.
| Bank | Checking: minimum to open | SSN or ITIN | Where you can open | Without SSN or green card |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chase | Total Checking: not stated; Secure Banking: no minimum | Not stated as a Chase rule | Online or branch (teens: branch) | Matrícula consular, passport or work permit as primary ID; one ID must show a U.S. address |
| Bank of America | SafeBalance $25; Advantage Plus $100 | Online asks for an SSN; visa holders open in person | Online or financial center | Visa holders: in person, two IDs incl. foreign passport or consular ID |
| Wells Fargo | $25 | SSN or ITIN | Online at 18+; branch under 18 | Branch appointment; foreign government ID showing nationality or residence |
| Citi | No minimum | SSN or ITIN | Online (savings also branch or phone); new customers may be asked to visit a branch | Online only for U.S. citizens and resident aliens; foreign individuals give a W-8BEN |
| U.S. Bank | Smartly Checking $25 | SSN or ITIN (online: SSN) | Online or branch | Branch: passport plus I-20 or I-94; Matrícula Consular Mexicana as primary ID |
| PNC | $25, or $0 online | SSN or ITIN | Online or branch | Branch only: passport, a second ID and Form W-8BEN |
| Truist | Truist One Checking $50 | SSN or taxpayer ID number | Online, branch or phone | Nonresident aliens: passport number, issuing country and foreign address |
| Capital One | 360 Checking: no minimum | SSN or ITIN | Online, branch or Café | 360 accounts: U.S. citizens and permanent residents only |
| TD Bank | $0 (fund within 45 days) | SSN; ITIN for TD Essential Banking | Online, store or phone | Not stated |
| Ally | $0 | SSN or taxpayer ID number | Online or phone only, no branches | U.S. residents with a U.S. street address only |
Have it ready before you apply
Citi may ask you to verify your address, so have one proof of address document ready as a PDF: a utility bill under 60 days old (Citi won't take a mobile phone bill), a pay stub or your lease. If a form asks for an ID upload, a clear photo of the front and back saves a retry. Know your SSN or ITIN; if you're unsure which you have, ITIN vs SSN explains. Paperlock keeps that set in one place on your iPhone: it reads each document you scan, locks behind Face ID, and blurs ID thumbnails until you confirm it's you. It's on the App Store.