Online, Bank of America asks for your SSN, address, email and a way to fund the account; in person as a non-citizen, it asks for two IDs and proof of a U.S. address.
- Photo ID: no ID list for U.S. citizens is published on the pages read; non-citizens bring "two unexpired forms of identification".
- SSN or ITIN: the online application asks for "Your Social Security number"; non-citizens should bring an SSN, ITIN or foreign tax ID if they have one (see below).
- Proof of address: online, "Your current residential address"; visa holders bring a document showing name and U.S. physical address.
- Opening deposit: Advantage SafeBalance Banking $25 or more; Advantage Plus and Relationship Banking $100 or more.
- Age: 18 for Advantage Plus and Relationship, 16 for SafeBalance; younger applicants co-own with an adult.
- Online or branch: "online or at a financial center, with a few exceptions"; visa holders open in person.
- Non-citizens and non-residents: a foreign passport, green card, employment authorization ID or certain consular IDs as primary ID, plus a secondary ID.
As read on Bank of America's own pages on October 29, 2026; the bank can change these, so its linked pages are the final word.
What to bring to Bank of America
| What to bring | What Bank of America says | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Primary ID | Non-citizens: "Foreign passport with or without U.S. issued visa", "U.S. permanent resident card", "Employment authorization ID" | Visa-holder list adds a Non-Immigrant visa and Border Crossing Card, Canadian citizenship card, and Mexican, Guatemalan, Dominican or Colombian consular ID |
| Second ID | "two unexpired forms of identification" for non-citizens | Secondary examples include a foreign or U.S. driver's license, or a debit or major credit card with a Visa or Mastercard logo |
| SSN or ITIN | Online: "Your Social Security number" | Non-citizens: tax ID "if applicable" (see below) |
| Proof of address | Visa holders: "Proof of U.S. residency", such as a U.S. government photo ID, student or employer photo ID, "current utility bill or rental agreement" | Documents "must show your name and U.S. physical address" |
| Opening deposit | SafeBalance: "Opening Deposit $25 or more"; Advantage Plus and Relationship: "$100 or more" | Online you need "Your account number or debit card number to make your opening deposit" |
| Online: "Your email address" | ||
| For teens | SafeBalance: "Age 16 or older"; Plus and Relationship: "Age 18 or older" | Younger applicants co-own with an adult; under 13, schedule a financial-center appointment |
If you're not a U.S. citizen
Bank of America's application FAQ says "U.S. visa holders currently living in the U.S. may open an account in person at one of our financial centers," with both your permanent foreign address and your local one. Non-resident aliens give a foreign physical address and a U.S. mailing address, and citizens of sanctioned countries must show proof of U.S. residency. International students can open "without a parent being present."
The pages disagree on the tax number. The FAQ says visa holders must be able to provide an ITIN. The international pages say "Bank of America does not require a SSN" and ask for a tax ID only "if applicable." The safe reading: an SSN isn't required to open in a financial center, but bring whatever tax ID you have, whether SSN, ITIN or foreign TIN, and book an appointment.
The federal minimum behind every bank's list
Under 31 CFR 1020.220, a bank must collect at least your name, date of birth, address and an identification number before it opens an account. For U.S. persons that number is a taxpayer ID such as an SSN or ITIN; for others it can be a passport number and issuing country, or a similar government ID number. The bank then verifies who you are, and each bank adds its own rules on top. The basics every bank shares are in what every US bank asks for.
How Bank of America compares
Same date, each bank's own pages; the other nine have their own checklists.
| Bank | Checking: minimum to open | SSN or ITIN | Where you can open | Without SSN or green card |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chase | Total Checking: not stated; Secure Banking: no minimum | Not stated as a Chase rule | Online or branch (teens: branch) | Matrícula consular, passport or work permit as primary ID; one ID must show a U.S. address |
| Bank of America | SafeBalance $25; Advantage Plus $100 | Online asks for an SSN; visa holders open in person | Online or financial center | Visa holders: in person, two IDs incl. foreign passport or consular ID |
| Wells Fargo | $25 | SSN or ITIN | Online at 18+; branch under 18 | Branch appointment; foreign government ID showing nationality or residence |
| Citi | No minimum | SSN or ITIN | Online (savings also branch or phone); new customers may be asked to visit a branch | Online only for U.S. citizens and resident aliens; foreign individuals give a W-8BEN |
| U.S. Bank | Smartly Checking $25 | SSN or ITIN (online: SSN) | Online or branch | Branch: passport plus I-20 or I-94; Matrícula Consular Mexicana as primary ID |
| PNC | $25, or $0 online | SSN or ITIN | Online or branch | Branch only: passport, a second ID and Form W-8BEN |
| Truist | Truist One Checking $50 | SSN or taxpayer ID number | Online, branch or phone | Nonresident aliens: passport number, issuing country and foreign address |
| Capital One | 360 Checking: no minimum | SSN or ITIN | Online, branch or Café | 360 accounts: U.S. citizens and permanent residents only |
| TD Bank | $0 (fund within 45 days) | SSN; ITIN for TD Essential Banking | Online, store or phone | Not stated |
| Ally | $0 | SSN or taxpayer ID number | Online or phone only, no branches | U.S. residents with a U.S. street address only |
Have it ready before you apply
For the online route, have the account or debit card number you'll fund from in front of you, plus your SSN. If a form asks you to upload an ID, a clear photo of the front and back saves a second try. For a financial-center visit as a visa holder, the proof of address has to show your name and U.S. street address, so a lease or a recent utility bill as a PDF is worth having. Not sure whether you have an SSN or an ITIN? ITIN vs SSN explains. Paperlock keeps these in one place on your iPhone: it reads each document you scan, locks behind Face ID, and blurs ID thumbnails until you confirm it's you. It's on the App Store.