To open a Capital One 360 account you need your SSN or ITIN, citizenship information, a U.S. physical address and a U.S. mobile number, no money up front, and, if you verify in person, a physical photo ID plus your Social Security card or ITIN.
- Photo ID: none listed online; in person, a U.S. state driver's license or learner's permit, state non-driver ID, or a U.S. or non-U.S. passport.
- SSN or ITIN: either: "a valid Social Security Number, or an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)."
- Proof of address: the open-an-account page says to grab "proof of address"; you need a U.S. physical address.
- Opening deposit: $0 for 360 Checking, 360 Performance Savings and MONEY Teen; fund within 60 days of approval.
- Age: 18 for 360 accounts; MONEY Teen Checking from age 6, jointly with a parent or legal guardian.
- Online or branch: online, at a branch, or with an ambassador at a Capital One Café.
- Non-citizens and non-residents: 360 accounts are for U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents only.
As read on Capital One's own pages on October 29, 2026; the bank can change these, so its linked pages are the final word.
What to bring to Capital One
| What to bring | What Capital One says | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Photo ID | In person: "A U.S. state-issued driver's license or learner's permit ..., a state-issued non-driver ID, or a U.S. or non-U.S. Passport" | Physical ID only |
| Second document | "A Social Security Card or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)" | "Both documents are required for in person ID verification." |
| SSN or ITIN | "a valid Social Security Number, or an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)" | Online FAQ: "Tax ID Number (SSN or ITIN) and citizenship information" |
| Address | "proof of address" and "a U.S. physical address" | 50 states, D.C., or APO/FPO military addresses |
| Opening deposit | "There is no minimum deposit required. You can open the account with any amount you wish." | "Upon approval, you'll have 60 days to fund your account." |
| For teens | MONEY Teen: "kids as young as 6," joint with a parent or legal guardian | The adult must be at least 18 |
| For non-citizens | "United States citizens or lawful permanent residents" | 360 Checking and 360 Performance Savings |
Who 360 accounts are for
The 360 Checking disclosure says the account is "available to United States citizens or lawful permanent residents with a U.S. physical address ... who are at least 18 years old and have a U.S.-based mobile phone number with either a valid Social Security Number, or an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)." The account you link for transfers "must be with a bank chartered in the U.S." 360 Performance Savings says the same. So an ITIN works only if you're also a citizen or green card holder (ITIN vs SSN explains the two numbers).
Online, or in person with two documents
Capital One describes the paperwork three ways. The 360 Checking FAQ says to "have these things ready": name, date of birth, mailing address, email, phone, employment, income, tax ID number and citizenship, with no ID document named. The open-an-account page says to "grab two forms of ID (such as a driver's license, Social Security card, passport or birth certificate) and proof of address." And if the online application errors and you're sent to a branch or Café, the help center asks for a physical photo ID plus your Social Security card or ITIN.
The safe reading: have both. The in-person verification page also lists a permanent resident card, an EAD card, a B1/B2 visa or Border Crossing Card, "Matricula Consular (Mexico only)" and Global Entry, in the existing-customer section that the new-customer section points to. MONEY Teen has a wrinkle too: its page says "only available online," while its disclosure mentions opening with an ITIN "in Branches and Capital One Cafés."
The federal minimum behind every bank's list
Federal rules for banks (31 CFR 1020.220) require a bank to collect your name, date of birth, address and an identification number before opening an account: a taxpayer ID for U.S. persons, and for non-U.S. persons something like a passport number and the country that issued it. The bank then has to verify who you are. Banks add their own rules on top, like Capital One's citizenship rule; for the general picture, see what every US bank asks for.
How Capital One compares
Same date, each bank's own pages; the other nine have their own checklists.
| Bank | Checking: minimum to open | SSN or ITIN | Where you can open | Without SSN or green card |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chase | Total Checking: not stated; Secure Banking: no minimum | Not stated as a Chase rule | Online or branch (teens: branch) | Matrícula consular, passport or work permit as primary ID; one ID must show a U.S. address |
| Bank of America | SafeBalance $25; Advantage Plus $100 | Online asks for an SSN; visa holders open in person | Online or financial center | Visa holders: in person, two IDs incl. foreign passport or consular ID |
| Wells Fargo | $25 | SSN or ITIN | Online at 18+; branch under 18 | Branch appointment; foreign government ID showing nationality or residence |
| Citi | No minimum | SSN or ITIN | Online (savings also branch or phone); new customers may be asked to visit a branch | Online only for U.S. citizens and resident aliens; foreign individuals give a W-8BEN |
| U.S. Bank | Smartly Checking $25 | SSN or ITIN (online: SSN) | Online or branch | Branch: passport plus I-20 or I-94; Matrícula Consular Mexicana as primary ID |
| PNC | $25, or $0 online | SSN or ITIN | Online or branch | Branch only: passport, a second ID and Form W-8BEN |
| Truist | Truist One Checking $50 | SSN or taxpayer ID number | Online, branch or phone | Nonresident aliens: passport number, issuing country and foreign address |
| Capital One | 360 Checking: no minimum | SSN or ITIN | Online, branch or Café | 360 accounts: U.S. citizens and permanent residents only |
| TD Bank | $0 (fund within 45 days) | SSN; ITIN for TD Essential Banking | Online, store or phone | Not stated |
| Ally | $0 | SSN or taxpayer ID number | Online or phone only, no branches | U.S. residents with a U.S. street address only |
Have it ready before you apply
Online, know your SSN or ITIN, your employer and annual income, and keep your U.S. mobile phone nearby. For a branch or Café check, bring the physical documents, not photos: a driver's license or passport and your Social Security card or ITIN. Capital One doesn't say which proof of address documents count, so a recent utility bill or statement in your name is the usual pick.
If those papers live in a drawer, Paperlock can hold them on your iPhone. It reads each document you save, keeps it behind Face ID, and shows ID thumbnails blurred until you confirm it's you. It's on the App Store.