U.S. Bank asks for a government photo ID, your SSN or ITIN, proof of address and, for its main checking account, a $25 opening deposit.
- Photo ID: "a valid driver's license, state-issued photo ID, or a valid passport" at a branch.
- SSN or ITIN: the standard requirement is an SSN or ITIN; the online application asks for your SSN.
- Proof of address: listed as a standard requirement; U.S. Bank's pages don't say which documents count (not stated).
- Opening deposit: "$25 minimum opening deposit" for U.S. Bank Smartly Checking and the Safe Debit account.
- Age: 18 to open on your own; teens 13 to 17 can open joint checking with a parent or guardian.
- Online or branch: online at 18 or older as a legal U.S. resident; any branch with a valid government ID.
- Non-citizens and non-residents: international applicants bring a passport and visa documents (I-20 or I-94); the Matrícula Consular Mexicana is accepted as a principal ID at branches.
As read on U.S. Bank's own pages on October 29, 2026; the bank can change these, so its linked pages are the final word.
What to bring to U.S. Bank
| What to bring | What U.S. Bank says | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Photo ID | "a valid driver's license, state-issued photo ID, or a valid passport" | The FAQ asks for "a valid, government-issued photo ID" |
| SSN or ITIN | "Social Security number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)" | Online: "Your Social Security number" |
| Proof of address | Listed under "Standard requirements" | Which documents count: not stated |
| Opening deposit | Bank Smartly Checking: "$25 minimum opening deposit" | Online, it activates the account "once you've been approved"; Bank Smartly Savings is also $25 to open |
| At the branch | "bring cash or a check to fund it" | Every co-owner on the account comes to the appointment too |
| For teens | "Teens ages 13 to 17 may be eligible for a joint checking account with a parent or guardian" | For minors: SSN or ITIN for parent and child, the minor's ID, and the parent's ID and proof of address |
| For non-citizens | "Additional for international applicants": a passport and "Visa documents (I-20 or I-94)" | Online needs "a legal U.S. resident" |
Online needs an SSN; a branch is more flexible
U.S. Bank's pages say two things about the tax number. Its requirements list accepts an SSN or an ITIN. Its checking page says you can apply online "if you're 18 years or older and a legal U.S. resident," and the information it lists starts with "Your Social Security number." The safe reading: with an SSN, online works; with an ITIN, a passport and visa documents, or a Matrícula card, go to a branch and bring every ID you have.
On the Matrícula, U.S. Bank's own page says it's accepted "as principal form of ID at all our branch locations." You can use it to apply for checking with a secondary ID such as a state-issued ID card, or for most accounts if you have an SSN or ITIN. A permanent resident card isn't mentioned on the pages read.
The federal minimum behind every bank's list
Under 31 CFR 1020.220, a bank must collect at least your name, date of birth, address and an identification number before it opens an account. For U.S. persons that number is a taxpayer ID such as an SSN or ITIN; for others it can be a passport number and issuing country, or a similar government ID number. The bank then verifies who you are, and each bank adds its own rules on top. The basics every bank shares are in what every US bank asks for.
How U.S. Bank compares
Same date, each bank's own pages; the other nine have their own checklists.
| Bank | Checking: minimum to open | SSN or ITIN | Where you can open | Without SSN or green card |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chase | Total Checking: not stated; Secure Banking: no minimum | Not stated as a Chase rule | Online or branch (teens: branch) | Matrícula consular, passport or work permit as primary ID; one ID must show a U.S. address |
| Bank of America | SafeBalance $25; Advantage Plus $100 | Online asks for an SSN; visa holders open in person | Online or financial center | Visa holders: in person, two IDs incl. foreign passport or consular ID |
| Wells Fargo | $25 | SSN or ITIN | Online at 18+; branch under 18 | Branch appointment; foreign government ID showing nationality or residence |
| Citi | No minimum | SSN or ITIN | Online (savings also branch or phone); new customers may be asked to visit a branch | Online only for U.S. citizens and resident aliens; foreign individuals give a W-8BEN |
| U.S. Bank | Smartly Checking $25 | SSN or ITIN (online: SSN) | Online or branch | Branch: passport plus I-20 or I-94; Matrícula Consular Mexicana as primary ID |
| PNC | $25, or $0 online | SSN or ITIN | Online or branch | Branch only: passport, a second ID and Form W-8BEN |
| Truist | Truist One Checking $50 | SSN or taxpayer ID number | Online, branch or phone | Nonresident aliens: passport number, issuing country and foreign address |
| Capital One | 360 Checking: no minimum | SSN or ITIN | Online, branch or Café | 360 accounts: U.S. citizens and permanent residents only |
| TD Bank | $0 (fund within 45 days) | SSN; ITIN for TD Essential Banking | Online, store or phone | Not stated |
| Ally | $0 | SSN or taxpayer ID number | Online or phone only, no branches | U.S. residents with a U.S. street address only |
Have it ready before you apply
Since U.S. Bank doesn't list which address documents it takes, bring the strongest proof of address you have: a recent utility bill or your lease with your name and street address on it, plus a PDF copy on your phone. If an online form asks for an ID upload, a clear photo of the front and back saves a retry. Know your SSN or ITIN; if you're unsure which you have, ITIN vs SSN explains. Paperlock keeps that set in one place on your iPhone: it reads each document you scan, locks behind Face ID, and blurs ID thumbnails until you confirm it's you. It's on the App Store.